Our Correspondent 

Fifteen (15) internet fraudsters, otherwise known as “Yahoo Boys”, on Wednesday, pleaded guilty separate one count charge of impersonation before Justice Uche Agomoh of Federal High Court and Justices Ladiran Akintola and Sherifat Adeyemi of the Oyo State High Court, all in Oyo State. 

Following their plea, the three justices convicted and sentenced them to various jail terms. 

This was after their prosecution by the Ibadan zonal command of the the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

The convicts are Faruq kayode Jimoh olowogaba, Bashiru Farouq Olamide, Ajileye Francis Mayowa, Ogundayo Saheed Dayo, Ayodeji Tosin Dada, Wasiu  Sodiq Anuoluwapo, Sodiq Adeniyi Idris, Ogoluwa Ayomide Olasupo, Adeyemi Yusuf Ekundayo, Odeku Titobioluwa, Oyebisi Damilola Olalekan, Boluwatife Ayobami Akinniyi, Samson Ojo, Adegbemi Segun Akanfe and Habeeb Ajani Abdullahi.

A statement issued on Thursday by the Spokesman for the EFCC, Wilson Uwujaren said, Justice Agomoh sentenced Ogundayo to nine months jail term, Dada, Anuoluwapo and Akinniyi, eight months imprisonment each while Olalekan and Ojo were sentenced to seven and three months respectively.

See also  Buhari's Spokesman, Garba Shehu Tests Positive For COVID-19

According to him, Justice Akintola sentenced Abdullahi to twenty four months imprisonment, Ogoluwa and Ekundayo, ten months each while Ajileye was jailed six months.

Uwujaren also said Justice Adeyemi sentenced Idris and Akanfe to six months community service, while Odeku was sentenced to five months community service. Jimoh and Bashiru were sentenced to three months community service.

Furthermore, the anti-graft agency spokesman, said the justices also ordered that the convicts restitute their various victims and forfeit the items recovered from them to the Federal Government.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *